C3 Legacy

September 20, 2013 – Robin Thicke, Breaking Benjamin, KoRn, and a FtV Taylor Swift 3-pack!

Note: Videos may contain authoring issues that have been fixed, and are for preview purposes only.

New! Singles

  • Breaking Benjamin – “Lights Out” K (Polish Weener and Jdcow45)
  • KoRn – “Y’all Want a Single” (Nightmare Lyre and TrojanNemo)
  • Robin Thicke – “Blurred Lines (feat. T.I. and Pharrell)” K (RyanHYK, titiln, and Nightmare Lyre)

From the Vault: Don’t Break Her Heart 3-pack (TrojanNemo)

  • Taylor Swift – “Love Story (Pop Mix)” M
    Converted from Band Hero
  • Taylor Swift – “Our Song” M
    Converted from Guitar Hero 5 DLC
  • Taylor Swift – “Picture to Burn” M
    Converted from Band Hero

A red X denotes Pro Guitar/Pro Bass, a blue M denotes full multitracks, and a blue K denotes a “karaoke” multitrack (separated vocals).

We’ve got a special announcement today! I (pksage) will be hosting a live-streamed “Let’s Author” workshop this Sunday, September 22, at 5:00 PM EDT (UTC-4). Is the custom-making process intimidating? Not sure where to start? Tune in and watch the process LIVE! I’ll be fielding questions as I go and explaining everything as carefully as I can. The entire thing will be available on-demand if you can’t catch it live, but you can follow me on Twitch to be notified on Sunday. Hope to see you there!
Rock Band 3’s fanbase has a well-documented taste for nu-metal songs, and this week C3 puts two of them directly into your I.V. First up are Polish Weener and Jdcow45 with “Lights Out”, the fourth single from Breaking Benjamin’s latest (and possibly final?) album Dear Agony. “Lights Out” joins six other Breaking Benjamin songs in Rock Band 3, including “I Will Not Bow” from the same album. If nu-metal, alt-metal, and post-grunge are your jams, look no further than this song.
We’ve also got KoRn’s “Y’all Want a Single” courtesy of Nightmare Lyre and TrojanNemo, and it’s possibly the most M-rated thing we’ve released to date. Y’all want a family-friendly song? Fuck that (fuck that)! Fuck you! Fuck you a second, different time! And fuck your mom! Phew. Sorry, I don’t know what came over me. Like Breaking Benjamin, Korn has a decent Rock Band presence — this song joins “Freak on a Leash”, “Falling Away from Me”, and their cover of “Word Up!” from DLC, DLC,  and LEGO RB, respectively.
Our final new song this week is also, for many reasons, the easiest to write copy about.

You’re a goooood girrrrrrlllll! Yes you are!
Wait. What do you mean, “not that kind of good girl”?
Robin Thicke’s collaboration with T.I. and Pharrell has been met by a collaboration between RyanHYK, titiln, and Nightmare Lyre. “Blurred Lines” has been taking the radio and the Internet by storm, not least because of its music video. The video features hashtags — lots of them — and also lots of boobs, if you watch the unrated version. The song itself blurs the lines between 2013 and the disco-influenced R&B of the ’70s, and possibly a bit of the Red Hot Chili Peppers? That might be a stretch. Regardless, the three-part harmonies are perfect for your next Rock Band night. Just don’t take your top off (unless you really want to).
Finally, TrojanNemo has updated three of his FtV Guitar Hero ports for you cunt…ry music lovin’ people. Taylor Swift is a disgustingly perfect example of the music success story, having recorded her first album when she was, like…16? I’m crazy jealous. Not as crazy or as jealous as she gets in the lyrics to her songs, though! Hey-ohhh! “Our Song” and “Picture to Burn” are both from that super-successful debut album, which has been certified 5x platinum. The songs are ported from GH5 DLC and Band Hero, respectively. “Love Story” is also from Band Hero, filling out a pack of three multi-tracked pop/country hits that are a must-have for any Rock Band party. If you like these, make sure to check out “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together” and “You Belong with Me”, both customs previously released by C3.
Updates to these From the Vault songs vs. their original custom releases:

  • “Love Story” has new stems, including crowd audio, newly added harmonies, and lots of fixes on guitar, bass, drums, and solo vocals
  • “Our Song” has new stems, newly added Keys/PK, a new venue, re-done harmonies, lots of drums changes, minor fixes to guitar and bass
  • “Picture to Burn” has new stems, including crowd audio, re-done harmonies, and lots of fixes on all instruments

See you next Friday!

New! Breaking Benjamin – “Lights Out” (Polish Weener and Jdcow45)

New! KoRN – “Y’all Want a Single” (Nightmare Lyre and TrojanNemo)

New! Robin Thicke – “Blurred Lines” (RyanHYK, titiln, and Nightmare Lyre)

FtV: Don’t Break Her Heart 3-pack (TrojanNemo)

Related Articles


  1. Another brilliant week. The hint thread was fun. It was like a scavenger hunt through the internet. Definitely interested in watching that workshop. Thanks guys!

  2. The authoring workshop is a godsend, thank you for doing this pksage. I have been fooling around with Reaper on & off for a few weeks, but I have no clue what I’m doing. I can usually figure my way through most software pretty good, but I have never used a DAW before so it is all a foreign language to me. I keep telling my wife that I wish there was a class I could attend to learn how to chart, so this is a wish come true. Unfortunately, I have a family obligation this Sunday, but I’m going to try hard to juggle things to watch live. If not, I will certainly check it out “on-demand”…I can’t wait!

  3. Thanks! Picking up Lights Out and Blurred Lines. Also, I appreciate you continuing to put what specifically was updated/improved in the FtV releases. I will try and watch that custom workshop but won’t be able to watch it live.

  4. #transition 🙂
    Can you capture/upload that workshop to youtube? I’m going to miss it. That’s something that I’d be interested in checking out. Don’t know how likely I would be to actually author a song, but it’s definitely something I’d be curious to see… and who knows?

  5. I will also watch (not sure live), but a suggestion:
    The process seems quite extensive, so maybe start with the minimal steps necessary and then have other advanced sessions.
    I know I am interested in starting with drums, so how to insert a MP3 (or other format) and then chart the drums and then play! I’ll leave the different audio stems, the animations, the character stuff to a bit later.

  6. Thanks for another great round of songs. I really want to tune in and look forward to the live tutorial. I would really like to see some custom country, not that there is anything wrong with Taylor swift. I’ve tried and tried to chart the vocals for some of my country favs and I’ve been unsuccessful so maybe I can see what I’m doing wrong Sunday.
    Thanks Again!!!!

  7. For the training, can you also recommend your fav tab sites? In looking around for drums, songsterr.com looks good. I can probably figure out what pads/cymbals to use, but have no idea how to read the time/(tempo?) and how to work with that…

Leave a Reply

Back to top button