Some noob questions…

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    devomeister
    Participant

I have recently started trying to author some tunes. While I’ve had most of my needs met by the copious resources and tutorials available on this website and forum, I have a questions I haven’t been able to track down.

1. Tips for playtesting your songs? I’m a pretty good player, but I’m no prodigy. In addition, I don’t have much of a singing voice, nor do I have a pro drum kit. So I can do my best, but how do you go about making sure everything feels right if there’s a fast guitar solo I struggle to play or a vocal line I struggle to sing? Is there a place to have others playtest your songs? What would that process look like?
      2. On time signatures and tempo changes…Is using a non- 4/4 time signature as simple as defining the alternate time signature in Reaper? If using the “q” method of tempo mapping, do I define this time signature before tempo mapping? What if I use the ¼ tempo mapping method highlighted by rubydanger’s tutorial? Do I just type in the song’s time signature after I’m done tempo mapping? What about a change of time signature? While I’m going easy on myself for my first several songs, I do have an eye on some songs with multiple time signatures.

What about a bpm change? Does tempo mapping just take care of that? Or would I need to alter the bpm in whatever section has a change to it. This seems more unusual (or, at least, I don’t have my eye on any songs with drastic bpm changes yet), but I am still curious how it’s done.