Any best practices for creating a custom of two songs back to back?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    cleverest
    Participant

I have TWO songs planned to create that are truly married on an album, back-to-back and REALLY make sense to play in direct sequence… (drums only for now, hopefully will collab for more later)

That being said, options are always nice….

Should I author each one individually and then will it be easy to combine them together as a dual track somehow later, or should I just create the dual-track since I’m determined to have that FOR SURE?

It should be noted that both songs, as happy fate would have it, are the same BPM (140)…so I have to imagine that makes things a bit easier somehow?

I’m still fairly new to this, and this is the first time I’ve tried creating a custom of TWO tracks together…

The two tracks are the first two tracks played in this live set. Pretty obscure band ATHLETICS.

Tracks are II and III (yes, those are the titles):

LIVE VIDEO

Album versions on this page: https://deepelmdigital.com/album/who-you-are-is-not-enough
      (For Fans of: Lights & Motion, The Appleseed Cast, Explosions In The Sky, Moving Mountains, Last Lungs, etc…)

BornGamerRob
      Participant

If you are putting them both together and you’re dead set on it and you absolutely DON’T want to have them separate, then your best option is to have both tracks together, tempo mapped together and charted together. However, if you’re going to regret it, do them separate and then you’ll have to do the extra work of then putting them together and adjusting tempo maps and notes and anything that doesn’t work right when you do.

But it does help they are both 140. That makes life a lot easier for whichever option you go with.

Good luck!

cleverest
        Participant