Ramblings about two measures of Reign in Blood …

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

I am charting a song with a lot of whammy bar on guitar so I thought I would check out Reign In Blood to see how it was handled there – only to find that it wasn’t tackled at all.

Nevertheless I was interested in the charting and decided to take a look at one of the simpler power chord sections because it had gems that I thought were not strictly ‘power chord’ gems (so I wanted to look at why it was charted the way it was).

This is the tab for the section in question:

MqsGvR9.png

If I wasn’t taking the speed of the song into account and just straight up charted it I would do something like this.

NIPnnmO.png

But of course that’s not very playable at slayer speed.

This is the chart from the RB3 FC video that I watched:

kJTUjbc.png

Initially what struck me as odd was the red orange for a power chord. Yeah, I’m a noob. But after that I wasn’t sure about keeping red and orange two times in a row for the first two descending chords – or the fact that the first pair of chords are closer together in the chart that the second pair. Musically the second pair if chords are closer together. But the difference between the first chords of each pairing does capture the descending motion.

Visually looking at the chart I might have done something more like this:

Yzb34dM.png

Not sure about the repeating red blue in this one.

And playing around on my plastic guitar I came up with a version that pivoted off the yellow gem, like this:

EZjVjab.png

What I liked about this was the clearly descending chord pattern.

Messing around with charts is all good and fun but the proof is in the playing.