Question regarding tempo mapping from imported Rocksmith customs.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

tl;dr: Are Rocksmith customs tempo maps as strict or completely different than what is used for Rock Band?

Hello everyone,

I am brand new to charting customs but have been playing Rock Band since 2008.

I spent most of yesterday watching the recommended tutorial videos and guides and getting all the programs needed for various things and I started charting vocals on a Dance Gavin Dance song.

I found a thread detailing how to transfer over Rocksmith custom charts that have vocals charted as talking with could get a decent start on a chart so I didn’t have to start from scratch.

I extracted the midi files for vocals and the audio file and then imported them into Reaper. I was unaware I would get a tempo map with this as well.

I spent a lot of time charting the vocals and didn’t notice any issues with the tempo map (maybe because vocals is 1/64th)

I started charting drums this morning and it just feels a little off. Some double bass parts sound faster that can be charted for 16th notes.

The songs average BPM according to a few sites is 183 and I noticed on the tempo map most is put as 140ish.(it does have sections of 180+)

Is it possible having the tempo that far off works for Rocksmith but not for Rock Band?

Thank you in advance and if I left anything out please let me know.

TheFrisk
    Participant

If we’re talking about Rocksmith Customs and not official songs, the quality in the tempo map will vary wildly depending on who’s authoring them. I’ve seen some that are spot on and others where no or minimal tempo mapping was done. It could just be the artists I’ve searched for and checked, but most I’ve come across fall into the latter of those groups and are literally just the gpro tabs from Ultimate Guitar converted to be played in Rocksmith, and most of those aren’t great.