Black Crowes – Black Moon Creeping / Difficulty with charting Drum’s Chorus Pattern

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Hello.  First time poster.  I’ve been working on charting the entire Black Crowes album “The Southern Harmony and Musical Companion,” and I’ve come to an impasse with their song Black Moon Creeping, and specifically the drum’s chorus pattern.  There’s a link below if you want to see my work so far. 

Chorus 1 is at 00:01:23:05, Chorus 2 at 00:02:26:03 and the final chorus starts at 00:04:00:16. (Timecode is burned onto the screen to help navigate.)

I should mention up front that I am a video editor by trade and I’m not charting this song through any traditional method listed on this site.  I found myself overwhelmed when I tried to understand these methods so I stuck with what I know.   I’m basically trying to listen to the song and figure out what is being played and I am hoping either someone has a better method for isolating drum tracks, or has a better ear and can decipher what’s going on during these sections.  I should further mention that when a yellow high hat note has been turned white, it means the hi-hat being hit is open (this is crucial, as I am playing on my actual set, and need this info.)

Any suggestions would be helpful as I am clearly not nailing these sections.

Password is q2n5p3hedns

Jack Tyler Rourke
    Participant

Okay, uhm, hello.

Well, it seems that you got the rhythm handled during the chorus, the right hand is playing correctly and so is the snare. You are missing some hi-hat notes that are clearly audible when the drummer does those little snare fills in the choruses, so you should check that.