Which is better, or an alternative?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    lifeismusic5
    Participant

So Im a novice at charting songs, been attempting to for quite some time with very little results, as obviously youve never seen a song from me yet. I use all the tools given by C3, BUT the main issue lies from where Im charting the songs.

I use at the moment EOF, I was told EOF was for beginners, but its very hard to get used to because its so painstakingly tedious. Been trying it since I started.

But theres also Reaper which Ive been told is a better charting program & more accurate, but its for more experienced charters.

Is there an inbetween or is that most likely it? Which is the better option for a beginner?

TheSheepQueen
      Participant

Reaper is not particularly for experienced authors, I’vé been making all of my RB customs on it. In fact I find it way more intuitive than EOF. Just grab yourself the authoring guide and go step to step. I’d say start with Guitar, Bass, Keys, then Drums, Pro Keys and Vocals. It’s really just a matter of not giving up on it!

lifeismusic5
        Participant

Thanks! Ive been finding it hard to chart songs with EOF, I attempted to use Reaper but it seems much more complicated, but maybe I just havent gotten much into Reaper to find out.

I started authoring with zero experience about a year ago and have only used Reaper.

Authoring has a bit of a learning curve to get the basics down – follow the guides to set up your environment then you can use the C3 template for your custom and use CAT to start the process of doing reductions for Hard, Medium and Easy when the time comes.

I would say that once you understand how the software works there are two main things to learn:

tempo mapping, so that your chart is in sync with the song

charting – which you will develop a feel for the more you do it.